Rosemary Chicken Salad

I’m always on the quest for a good chicken salad recipe.  I have an idealized memory of the chicken salad that was served at a coffee shop near my college.  River Road Coffeehouse made a mean chicken salad sandwich.  It had almonds and pineapple in it and it was served on a croissant!  What’s not to love?!

These days I bookmark, pin, or tear out any delicious sounding chicken salad recipes that come my way.  But when I realized I had some chicken in the fridge just waiting to be put to good use, I ended up googling “chicken salad recipes” on my phone.  It turned out to be a great recipe!  (Although it’s not helping me get through my stacks of saved recipes)

Rosemary Chicken Salad

Adapted from Cooking Light

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (or however many come in the pack from the grocery store)
  • Kosher salt
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • Crushed dried rosemary
  • 2-3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 stalks celery, thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup smoked almonds, chopped
  • 1/3 cup golden raisins (or craisins)
  • 1/3 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup low-fat mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Generously sprinkle both sides of chicken with salt, pepper, and rosemary.  Place on baking sheet and loosely cover with foil.  Bake for about 20 minutes, flip chicken and cook for about 15 more minutes (cut chicken at the thickest point to check that it’s done).  Let rest 10 minutes before cutting up into bite-size pieces.  Let cool in the fridge while you assemble the other ingredients.

Combine the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.  Add the cooled chicken and stir to combine.  Serve chilled.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: 1 year anniversary! | A Seat at the Table

  2. Pingback: Summer recipes | A Seat at the Table

  3. Pingback: Favorite Fall Recipes | A Seat at the Table

Leave a comment